Tokyo on film: Waseda reflections

Waseda Takadanobaba Tokyo analogue Japan-2

Waseda Takadanobaba Tokyo analogue Japan-3

Waseda Takadanobaba Tokyo analogue Japan-10

Waseda Takadanobaba Tokyo analogue Japan-11

Waseda Takadanobaba Tokyo analogue Japan-12

As a university student I spent an exchange year at Waseda University in Tokyo. I was living quite close to the campus, in a dormitory for foreign students, where I shared a very tiny room with a Chinese girl (but that’s yet another story …). That is why for me there is more to Takadanobaba station and the area around the university than just students hanging round or the theme music of the Astroboy manga at the station. Instead, I have so many wonderful memories of this area, as I spent one of the best times I had in Tokyo so far, there. Even though my exchange year was overshadowed by the Great East Japan earthquake in 2011, during that one year I met so many people from around the world, took part in so many dorm parties, learned so much Japanese (the university courses were quite challenging!) and simply enjoyed Tokyo so much, that this makes my exchange year unforgettable for me.

Even now, once in a while I like to walk from Takadanobaba station to the campus, while passing all the countless cheap little restaurants, visit the bookstore on campus, take the lunch menu at Cafe Cotton Club, watch an independent film at the Waseda Shochiku cinema, – and just take a trip down memory lane 😉

Mein Austauschjahr während des Studiums habe ich an der Waseda-Uni in Tokyo verbracht. Ich wohnte damals auch ganz nah am Campus, in einem Wohnkomplex für ausländische Studenten, wo ich mir ein winziges Zimmer mit einer Chinesin teilte (aber das ist wieder eine andere Geschichte…). Deswegen verbinde ich den Takadanobaba-Bahnhof und die Gegend um die Uni nicht nur mit herumgammelnden Studenten und der Titelmusik des Astroboy-Mangas, sondern mit vielen Erinnerungen an eine der besten Zeiten, die ich in Tokyo verbracht habe. Auch wenn mein Austauschjahr von dem großen Erdbeben 2011 überschattet ist, habe ich damals so viele Leute aus aller Welt kennengelernt, so viele Wohnheimsparties gefeiert, so viel Japanisch gelernt (die Uni-Kurse waren nicht ohne!) oder Tokyo einfach so unbeschwert genossen wie nie, was die Erfahrungen damals unvergesslich machen.

Auch jetzt noch spaziere ich ab und zu gerne vom Takadanobaba Bahnhof zum Campus, vorbei an den unzähligen billigen kleinen Restaurants, besuche den Buchladen in der Uni, nehme das Lunch-menu bei Cafe Cotton Club, sehe mir einen Independent-Film im Waseda-Shochiku Kino an, – und schwelge ein wenig in Erinnerungen an eine andere Zeit 😉

Kommentar verfassen

